United States Senate

WASHINGTON, DC 20510

June 28, 2021

The Honorable Christopher Coons Chairman Subcommittee on State, Foreign Operations and Related Programs Senate Committee on Appropriations The Honorable Lindsey Graham Ranking Member Subcommittee on State, Foreign Operations and Related Programs Senate Committee on Appropriations

Dear Chairman Coons and Ranking Member Graham:

As you consider the Fiscal Year (FY) 2022 State, Foreign Operations and Related Programs Appropriations bill, we respectfully request that you provide \$1.25 million for the U.S. State Department's Office of the Special Envoy to Monitor and Combat Anti-Semitism, an increase of \$250,000 above the FY 2021 enacted level.

Tragically, 76 years after the end of the Holocaust, antisemitism remains a serious and growing danger for Jews in Europe, the Middle East, the United States, and elsewhere in the world. According to a study by the Kantor Center for the Study of Contemporary European Jewry, violent antisemitic attacks worldwide rose 18 percent in 2019, including at least 53 synagogues and 28 community centers and schools that were targeted.

To combat the rising tide of global antisemitism, the State Department's Special Envoy to Monitor and Combat Anti-Semitism works to promote accurate Holocaust education, improve the safety and security of at-risk Jewish communities, ensure foreign public officials condemn antisemitic discourse, and strengthen foreign judicial systems in their prosecution of antisemitic incidents. The Special Envoy is responsible for developing and implementing policies and projects to combat global antisemitism by working closely with foreign governments, intergovernmental organizations, and civil society. Additionally, the Special Envoy coordinates and assists in developing the reports on antisemitism within the State Department's annual Human Rights Reports and International Religious Freedom Report.

The Special Envoy to Monitor and Combat Anti-Semitism Act of 2019 (PL 116-326), which passed both the House of Representatives and Senate unanimously and was signed into law on January 13, 2021, elevated the Special Envoy position to the rank of Presidentially-appointed and Senate-confirmed ambassador, reporting directly to the Secretary of State. Providing additional funds in FY 2021 will ensure the State Department has the resources to implement PL 116-326 and continue building on United States leadership in combating antisemitism internationally. Specifically, these funds would support the Special Envoy's efforts to improve the safety and security of at-risk Jewish communities, combat online radicalization, ensure public officials and faith leaders condemn anti-Semitic discourse, and strengthen judicial systems in their prosecution of anti-Semitic incidents.

Thank you for your consideration and prior funding for the Office of the Special Envoy to Monitor and Combat Anti-Semitism. The undersigned members strongly urge you to appropriate \$1.25 million for the Office of the Special Envoy to Monitor and Combat Anti-Semitism in the FY 2022 State, Foreign Operations and Related Programs Appropriations Act.

Sincerely,

Jacky Rosen United States Senator

Catherine Cortez Masto United States Senator

n

Tina Smith United States Senator

Maria Cantwell United States Senator

M. Michael Rounds United States Senator

Kevin Cramer

United States Senate

Richard Blumenthal United States Senator

Ron Wyden United States Senator

Kirsten Gillibrand United States Senator

ligaluth

Elizabeth Warren United States Senator

R Warner

Mark R. Warner United States Senator

Dianne Feinstein United States Senator

K. UNWE

Raphael G. Warnock United States Senator

Tammy Direkwath

Tammy Duckworth United States Senator

Alex Padilla United States Senator

Michael Bennet United States Senator

Jack Reed

United States Senator

6 Covery

Robert P. Casey, Jr. United States Senator

Edward J. Ma

Edward J. Markey United States Senator

Clatero

Gary Peters United States Senator

Tim Kaine United States Senator

Tammy Baldwin United States Senator

Jon Ossoff United States Senator

Kyrsten Sinema United States Senator

Chris Van Hollen United States Senator

Brown Shirred

Sherrod Brown United States Senator

Cory A. Booker United States Senator

Christopher S. Murphy United States Senator