Rosen Appointed to U.S. Holocaust Memorial Council

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, U.S. Senator Jacky Rosen (D-NV), co-founder and co-chair of the Senate Bipartisan Task Force for Combating Anti-Semitism, announced that she has been appointed to the United States Holocaust Memorial Council for the 117th Congress.

“We must never forget those who were taken from us, or the suffering inflicted upon those who survived the horrors of the Holocaust,” dijo el Senador Rosen. “The only way to prevent one of the darkest chapters in our history from reoccurring is to ensure that the truth of the Holocaust, and the stories of those lost, and those who survived, continues to be told.”

“I’m honored to join the United States Holocaust Memorial Council, and I look forward to working alongside the trustees to ensure that the Museum’s living memorial continues to inspire us all to oppose hatred, prevent future atrocities, and advance human rights around the world,” Senator Rosen continued. “Together, we can ensure that the words ‘Never Again’ truly mean ‘Never Again’ for anyone. Together, we will push back against the rise of anti-Semitism and call out prejudice, bigotry, and hate wherever we see it.”

BACKGROUND: The United States Holocaust Memorial Council was established by Congress in 1980 to lead the nation in commemorating the Holocaust and to raise private funds for and build the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum. The Council serves as the museum’s board of trustees, which includes appointees from the U.S. Senate and U.S. House of Representatives.

Last Congress, Senator Rosen launched the Senate Bipartisan Task Force for Combating Anti-Semitism, with co-chair Senator James Lankford (R-OK).

Also last Congress, Senator Rosen, joined by Senators Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Marco Rubio (R-FL), and Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), introduced the Never Again Education Act, bipartisan legislation to establish a dedicated federal fund to provide teachers with resources and training necessary to teach our students the important lessons of the Holocaust. The bill was signed into law in May 2020.

In January 2020, Senators Rosen, Lankford (R-OK), Cardin (D-MD), Cramer (R-ND), and Menendez (D-NJ) introduced a bipartisan resolution commemorating the 75th anniversary of the liberation of the Auschwitz concentration camp by Allied Forces during World War II.

Senator Rosen holds the distinction of being the third female Jewish Senator in U.S. history, as well as the first former synagogue president to serve in the United States Senate. As such, Senator Rosen has been an outspoken advocate of combating anti-Semitism in the United States, the Middle East, Europe, and around the world.