Rosen Highlights New Co-Sponsors of Bipartisan Resolution Commemorating 75th Anniversary of Liberation of Auschwitz by Allied Forces

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, U.S. Senator Jacky Rosen (D-NV) released the following statement highlighting additional co-sponsors of her bipartisan resolution commemorating the 75th anniversary of the liberation of Auschwitz by Allied forces. New co-sponsors include Senators Doug Jones (D-AL), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Tim Scott (R-SC), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Susan Collins (R-ME), Josh Hawley (R-MO), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV), Mitt Romney (R-UT), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Cory Booker (D-NJ), Charles Schumer (D-NY), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Tom Carper (D-DE), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Jack Reed (D-RI), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Ed Markey (D-MA), Tammy Duckworth, (D-IL), Chris Coons (D-DE), Ron Wyden (D-OR), Mike Braun (R-IN), Bob Casey (D-PA), Bernie Sanders (I-VT), and Michael Bennet (D-CO). The resolution now has the support of 33 Senators from both sides of the aisle.
“The horrors of the Holocaust took the lives of six million Jews and millions of other innocent individuals. Over a million people were murdered at Auschwitz alone.” said Senator Rosen. “I am glad to see that so many of my colleagues in Congress are willing to come together, across party lines, in order to recognize the significance of the anniversary of Auschwitz’s liberation, to remember those lost, and to honor the legacy of the survivors. From this dark past, we can and must band together to bring forth a brighter future, fighting anti-Semitism and hate in every form.” 
BACKGROUND: Last week, Senator Rosen, along with Senators James Lankford (R-OK), Robert Menendez (D-NJ), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), and Ben Cardin (D-MD), introduced S.Res. 481, a bipartisan resolution commemorating the 75th anniversary of the liberation of the Auschwitz concentration camp by Allied Forces during World War II.

Organizations supporting S.Res. 481 include the Jewish Federations of North America, the American Jewish Committee, the Simon Wiesenthal Center, the Union of Orthodox Jewish Congregations of America, Agudath Israel of America, Hadassah, the National Council of Jewish Women, HIAS, and the Anti-Defamation League. Text of the bipartisan resolution can be found here.
Last July, Senator Rosen introduced the Never Again Education Act, bipartisan legislation that would establish a dedicated federal fund to provide teachers with resources and training necessary to teach our students the important lessons of the Holocaust.

Senator Rosen holds the distinction of being the third female Jewish Senator in U.S. history, as well as the first former synagogue president to serve in the United States Senate. As such, Senator Rosen has been an outspoken advocate of combating anti-Semitism in the United States, the Middle East, Europe, and around the world. Last year, Senators Rosen and Lankford launched the first-ever Senate Bipartisan Task Force for Combating Anti-Semitism.