Rosen Applauds President Biden Signing American Rescue Plan Act Into Law

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, U.S. Senator Jacky Rosen (D-NV) released the following statement applauding President Biden for signing the American Rescue Plan Act of 2021 into law:

“Today, the United States government fulfills our promise of delivering much-needed relief to Nevadans,” said Senator Rosen. “Now that the American Rescue Plan is law, our efforts to overcome COVID-19 will be strengthened by the provisions we’ve passed. This new law includes direct payments to Americans in need, support for our state’s workforce and small businesses, over $4.1 billion in funding for Nevada’s state and local governments, and enhanced unemployment relief for Nevadans who are out of work as a result of the pandemic. I am proud to have worked to secure this aid for the people of the Silver State, and I applaud President Biden for signing this bill into law. Know that I will continue working to see our state through this crisis and to protect the lives and livelihoods of Nevadans.”

BACKGROUND: Last week, Senator Rosen voted to pass the American Rescue Plan Act of 2021.

The American Rescue Plan will lift 40,000 Nevada children above the poverty line, and approximately 634,000 will benefit from the expanded Child Tax Credit and Earned Income Tax Credit.

The American Rescue Plan will also provide:

  • Approximately 1.4 million households in Nevada with direct payments
  • 178,150 Nevadans with extended, enhanced unemployment insurance
  • $1.07 billion in K-12 education funding to Nevada
  • $204 million in higher education funding
  • $165 million in emergency rental assistance
  • $151,580,799 in transit funding to localities across the state.

Over $4.115 billion in funding will go to Nevada’s state and local governments. Distribution of the funds can be found below:

Nevada State government: $2.947 billion

Metro Cities: $285 million

Other Municipalities: $151 million

State capital projects: $135 million

Counties: $597 million

  • Carson City: $10.84 million
  • Churchill County: $4.83 million
  • Clark County: $439.62 million
  • Douglas County: $9.48 million
  • Elko County: $10.24 million
  • Esmeralda County: $170,000
  • Eureka County: $390,000
  • Humboldt County: $3.26 million
  • Lander County: $1.07 million
  • Lincoln County: $1.01 million
  • Lyon County: $11.15 million
  • Mineral County: $870,000
  • Nye County: $9.02 million
  • Pershing County: $1.30 million
  • Storey County: $800,000
  • Washoe County: $91.45 million
  • White Pine County: $1.86 million